This incident took place in 2006

Reporter's Name : 409 Time View :
Update : Wednesday, February 3, 2021

The first ODI of the Pakistan-India series is underway in Peshawar. Excitement in the match. Pakistan need 40 off 41 balls to win, with Inzamam-ul-Haq and Younis Khan on wickets.

Inzamam pushed the ball mid-off. He decided not to take a run, but the midfielder stood up and picked up the ball and threw it straight into Inzamam’s stamp at the end of the striking end. Inzamam blocked the ball a lot like batting.

The umpires decided after a while, Inzamam out. What is the reason? Inzamam was out of the crease. He would have been out if the ball had hit the stumps through a direct throw or another flier. But in this case, he blocked the ball, so the umpires considered the possibility of a runout.

The Pakistani batsman, one of the best of his time, spent some time trying to clear his position. But the rules are the rules. As a result, the umpires declared him out.

In the language of cricket, this type of out is known as ‘Obstructing the Field’. Pakistan won that ODI match, but there has been a lot of talk about this out.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

More News of this category