IU Reporters Unity gets new committee

Md Sohanur Rahman, IU Correspondent : 419 Time View :
Update : Monday, January 23, 2023

Mostafizur Rahman Rakib of ‘Daily Ittefaq’ and Tasninul Hasan of ‘Daily Ajkaler Khobor’ has been elected as the new president and general secretary of Islamic University Reporters Unity (IURU) for the next one year on Monday.

The election began at 11:00 am at the Reporters Unity office adjacent to the university’s Bir Sreshtho Hamidur Rahman Auditorium and continued till 12:00 pm.

IU Student Advisor Prof. D. Shelina Nasrin conducted the election as chief election commissioner while Assistant Prof. Md. Hafizul Islam of the Development Studies and Assistant Prof. Ariful Islam of the Biomedical Engineering department were the assistant election commissioners.

After the election, IU pro-vice-chancellor Prof D. Mahbubur Rahman announced the result as the chief guest, while Tressure Prof. D. Alamgir Hossain Bhuiya, acting registrar HM Ali Hasan, Proctor Prof. D. Jahangir Hossain were present as special guests. IU Teachers Association, Shapla Forum, university Chhatra League, Student Union, and Student Alliance were also present in the program.

The other nominees for the 15 members committee include Tarekul Islam (Daily Desher Kantha) as Vice-President, Moazzem Adnan (Daily Amader Orthaniti) as Joint General Secretary, Md Sohanur Rahman ( The Daily Sun) as Organizational Secretary, Shahriar Kabir (Daily Tritiya Matra) as Office Secretary, Shahin Alam (Daily Swadesh Pratidin) as Treasurer, Farhana Nausheen (Daily Amar Sangbad) as Publication Secretary, Mathia Oishi (Daily Nagorik Vabna) as Cultural Secretary, Khalilur Rahman (Daily Bangla Patrika) as Sports Secretary.

Reza Ahmed (Daily Somoyer Diganta), Sami Al Saud (Daily Bhorer Dak), Zahid Bin Firoz (Rising BD), Mostak Morshed ( Daily Nabochatona), Mongkya Marma (News Vision BD) were nominated as the executive members.

The IURU was established in 2018. The tenure of this committee will be one year.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

More News of this category